April Race #2 – That 80s Run!

IMG_3540It was a Thursday morning and I just got home from my daily run – when the girls get a text from their “bestie” (and fellow runner) Taylor asking if we are doing the 80’s run that Saturday.  So, before I even get my cup of coffee and English muffin – I am registering us three gals for “The Totally Awesome 80’s Run” that following Saturday.  It was a 5k and 10k race and I decided that since Taylor was running with the girls – that I would run the 10k and let the girls run together for the 5k.  Taylor’s younger sister, Nicole and her mom decided to run the race too!  We had great company and a great day!  Amazing weather – 60 degrees and sunny at race time and not a cloud in the sky!

80 faces love itOn race morning – I “schooled” the girls on how to make a “OMG – 80s face” with your mouth wide open and tilted head to the side.  I also told them the importance of side ponytails in the 80’s and I reminisced on how I totally rocked them on a regular basis.

The race was at St. Charles County Community College (close to home) and started at 8AM – and we arrived at the same time as our friends and were able to go to the bathroom and get lined up just in time for the race!

IMG_3538Here is a great pic of all 4 girls – In order – Nicole, Hannah, Taylor and Kayla – Love the striped knee socks Taylor – you make me proud!  We normally like to “dress the part” of any theme – but at this race – they outdid themselves – with bright colors and sparkles – the Green Gals were out done!

The girls had a great race and more importantly had a blast with Taylor.  It was a great course and all around the small campus – twice – which gave me a lot of peace knowing they were safe.  The 10k course was hilly – and I finished in the top 10 overall women and felt great during it!  I love Spring & Fall for running!

Here are the girls are with the mascot of SCCC.  I am not sure what exactly the mascot is – but in true 80’s fashion – the girls were calling him “Hungry Like a Wolf.”  Again with the 80’s faces – and the students become the teacher!  I love it!

80s facesThis race had one of the BEST swag bags I have ever received for a race!  We registered last minute – so the price was $30 per person (ouch) – but the tshirts are QUALITY shirts, super cute and the bags had a lot of fun stuff in them.  Best of all was the expo afterwards.  The girls got lots of free stuff and signed up for every possible promotion that was there (suckers).  I do admit – I gave away the XL shirt that Hannah picked up – even though she was so cute and jumped up and down like she just won the “Showcase Showdown” on The Price is Right when she got it!  I also gave away the cheapy water bottles – but did leave with at least 10 extra coozies!  Anyone who knows me – knows that coozies are my favorite – and I am like a girlscout and always prepared with coozies for me and extras!

Oh yeah – and there was a photo-booth at the race – who doesn’t love a photo-booth!

IMG_3548In addition, our swag bags came with raffle tickets that you could put in to win baskets full of goodies!  However, the kicker is – you have to stay until the end of all the races (even the kids fun runs) to win!  It was a great day out and we had no plans – so we hung out on the campus and waited – and I am glad we did – we won the first basket of the day!  It had a movie in it (Uncle Buck & The Great Outdoors combo) and giftcards to a lot of local merchants along with a new frisbee and nice water bottles.   It was great!  Now I was jumping up and down like I just won “The Showcase Showdown!”

IMG_3551Last but not least – SCCC was founded in 1987 and so they gave a prize to the 87th runner that crossed the finish line – and look who that was – KAYLA!  We should have bought a lottery ticket that day!  Kayla with “Hungry Like a Wolf,” the mascot – I think she won a car wash – I need one!!

What a great race day with amazing friends – I couldn’t hand-pick better gals for my girls to be friends with!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to April Race #2 – That 80s Run!

  1. Anna says:

    You should have gotten a lottery ticket!

Leave a comment