August – The Blacklight Run

While I am NOT a fan of “gimmicky” runs and typically prefer the regular “road runs” that start in the morning and end with bagels (and sometimes a mimosa), the girls really wanted to run The Blacklight Run for our August Run!  We signed up with BOTH of my sisters (Anna & Leah) and it was a great night full of GIRL POWER!  The run was in Sauget, Illinois – which is not the best area of town – but was held at the Gateway Grizzlies stadium. So we figured it was safe.  

We were instructed to get to the race early – so we got there almost 2 hours early and were greeted by a HUGE stage and a party that was going on before the race.  The DJs were throwing out tons of Blacklight Run SWAG for the race.  We of course used this time to hydrate, stretch, and relax!  YEAH RIGHT!  We danced, jumped, took photos, and enjoyed the great music.  It was a great night in East St. Louis!   You can’t see it in this photo – but my big head is covering the St. Louis Arch! 

whole teamHere are some photos of both my sister showing off their cheerleader moves before the race started!  We all obviously have a lot of energy.  NOTE – we did not have a single drink of alcohol. 

auntsAbout 20 minutes before the race started they corralled us into these crazy fences and kept the music going.  In addition, they were giving out even more Blacklight Run Swag!  YES PLEASE!  The girls rocked at getting SWAG! 

swagWe are all corralled and ready to start the race – but first – LET US TAKE A SELFIE!!!!! 

selfieIN ALL HONESTY – the corral process at this race was pretty bad.  We waited over an hour in the corral with no bathroom or drinks while they let a group of runners/walkers lose every 15 minutes.  It was fine for the first 20 minutes – but we all were just standing there gradually moving up in line.  It was pretty poorly managed.  I have ran in much larger races than this and never did I experience such disorganization and frustration.  It got darker and darker though as we waited and we ended up with a Blacklight Run tutu, hat, glowsticks and gloves before the night was over.  Weirdest part of waiting in line was the smoker behind us – which I could not hold my tongue about, and the crazy lady that decided holding up sparklers while finally crossing the starting line was a good idea.  Again – I did not hold my tongue and my MAMA BEAR came roaring out of me.  Come on fellow runners – let’s just use our brains! 

2014-08-02 21.20.51The run was FUN and VERY DARK!  I turned my ankle pretty badly at the end of June and I was paranoid running in the pitch dark that I would turn it again.  In addition, it was a packed, super narrow course that weaved its way around a parking lot and down a path that is by the grizzlies stadium and I know I was a sight running so gingerly on it – tip toes the whole way! 

During the race, there were 4 or so stations that the runners were doused with different colors of powder that would glow under a black light and in those stations everyone would stop and take selfies!  SUPER FUN!  Who doesn’t like a selfie – while covered in colored powder! 

2014-08-02 21.51.59We all survived the race without any injuries and had a BLAST!  However, the biggest downfall of this race (aside from the unorganized corralling system) was that there was NO WATER after the race!  Not a single station, cup, bottle, or drop of water!  NONE!  I have never been to a race like that!  However, there were beer tents set up everywhere!  We were all exhausted and decided to head home.  Above are my girls powdered head to toe as we stopped to get a drink! 

group of picsI had so much fun with my girls and my sisters and I am so lucky that my girls have such great female role models in their lives. I truthfully feel very blessed they are able to have these relationships with all their aunts and grandmas. 

We truly are blessed!  Thanks Anna & Leah for running with us! 

Next Month, we are running in the “Trails for Tails” 5k in Old Town St. Charles with Jason and my brother Jesse and his wife, Angie!   We are running on TEAM SUPER BUDDIES!  FUN FUN FUN! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to August – The Blacklight Run

  1. Leah says:

    It was a blast!!!!

Leave a comment