May – Run Like a Mother!

Just a typical Mother’s Day!  I get to pick what we do ALL DAY LONG and my family happily (reluctantly) agrees to be part of my plan!  For 2 years now Jason and I have woke up early and ran in the RUN-LIKE-A-MOTHER 5k race in O’Fallon.  It is put on by on of our couple friends, is close to home and with great dri-fit shirts – this race is NOT one to miss!

However this year the girls planned to join us and use this race as part of our New Years Resolution!  FUN FUN!   There is nothing I love more than running with my family!  Before we left for the race Jason and the girls gave me one of my Mother’s Day gifts – a Road ID – which I really wanted/needed!  It has all my important information on it and Jason’s contact information – in case something ever happened while running.  He even put my Boston Qualifying time and a quote “There is NO Finish Line”  on it – which I truthfully believe in.  As long as my body will let me – I don’t plan to stop running!  As a side note – my other favorite quote is “I don’t jog” – but that is the “snarkier” side of me! VERY THOUGHTFUL GIRLS  AND HUSBAND!!

This photo is before the race and before we got all sweaty!  NOTE the super cool technical t-shirts.  Great color, great fit (and I love that there are separate women sizes)!

IMG_3717They had a cool pink firetruck from Wentzville Fire Department come to the race and of course we had to get our photos taken with the only pink fire truck with eyelashes!  Kayla (left) hates to have her hair messed up and would NOT put on the hat!  Hannah is a trooper and always ready for props to make a better photo/movie.

IMG_3714IMG_3713This year the course was moved a little South to St. Peters, and I loved the course even more.  We got to run on a paved trail, which was beautiful and serene (my favorite runs are on paved trails) and it was an easy out and back route.   The weather was great and even a little humid from the rain the night before.   The girls told me since it was Mother’s Day that I should run ahead and run my normal race pace!  So, I ran my normal race pace and so did Jason and the girls ran together.  They did great and pushed each other!  SO PROUD!

THE GREEN FAMILY REPRESENTED!!!  Kayla got third and Hannah got fourth in the under 21 age group.  Jason got third in his age group and I got second in my age group and third overall woman!  What a great race! 

IMG_3721Another great part of this race is that all the ladies/girls get flowers, they have a fun photobooth (which believe me – the girls took full advantage of)  and after the race there is O’Fallon Weach Beer  (one of my favorites – Wheat Peach Beer) and Mimosas!!  WIN WIN!  I love my sweaty little teenagers after a run!  They look totally exhausted – but at the same time – they look completely fulfilled and proud of themselves.  My heart feels so full when I see photos of them!

Here is a photo of my crew right after the run – note how sweaty and gross (and happy) we are!  This was one of the best Mother’s Days I have ever had.  I know I am supposed to be dreading and despising these teenage years – but so far, this has been my favorite age with my girls.  I love their sarcasm, their personalities and I think I have pretty awesome girls!  I cannot believe they will be in high school next year!  Time just flies!

IMG_3722 “My cup runneth over” – I look at this photo and those words come to mind!  Thanks family for such a great Mother’s Day and for a great May Race! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment