March – Taste of Achievement 6k!

March was a tricky month to find a reasonably priced 5k that wasn’t an hour from our house.  While there are a lot of races around St. Patrick’s Day – many of them are 5 mile or 10k, or start too early when really all we want is to for St. Patty’s day is see the parade – and skip the race!!

As the end of March grew close – we needed to pick a race!  We chose the “Taste of Achievement 6k” that supports the St. Louis Dietetics Association.  The best part about this race is that it is at Creve Coeur Park in St. Louis County and is pretty close to home.  This park is super flat, has 2 lakes and a paved trail around one lake and a partial paved trail around the other (6k is the distance around one of the lakes) .  In addition, there is a boathouse and The St. Louis Rowing Club is located there, so there are always “crew” boats on the lake – which is fun to watch.  However, for the girls (and me too), the best part about this race and the lake was that there were DOGS that they could “ooh and ahh” over the whole time.  Swimming dogs are the cutest!

Creve_Coeur_parkThe weather was amazing and it didn’t start until 10 AM – which my teenagers LOVED!  Even though we look like we are all bundled up – we quickly shed our jackets as the race started.

photo 2.JPGThe great weather and flat course lead to a FUN run for a good cause.  Afterwards, they had great snacks including apples, fig bars, granola bars and gave away a little book on healthy recipes.  I love my girls sweaty post run smiles.  I think they get the runners high like I do!  They are always in the best mood after runs (but who isn’t)!

photo 1.JPG  April brings our Graffiti Run – a wild and crazy colorful run!  Can’t wait! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to March – Taste of Achievement 6k!

  1. Anna says:

    Way to keep up with your commitment. I’m very proud of you all! One of these days I’m going to find one I can join you on… or at the very least run behind you because I’m sure you would beat me.

Leave a comment